Five ways I fail in my life every day.

Mark Schaefer
5 min readAug 25, 2021

Years ago, I saw a statistic that haunted me. It haunts me still:

The primary emotion people feel when engaging in social media is jealousy.

Our social media narratives largely feature nothing but our shiny best selves. A constant stream of the best vacations and the best meals and the most beautiful children. It can wear on you.

Jealousy. Yes, I can understand that.

Since the day I learned of that statistic, I’ve tried to present a more balanced view of my life. I’m never going to show my normal pandemic hobo state of grooming because it’s kind of gross. But I want to present some downsides with my upsides. I would like people to see me as a normal person and counterbalance the jealousy.

So today I present five ways I fail every day. Sometimes, I’m just so bad it’s embarrassing, starting with:

1. I have a terrible time remembering people

I was planning a trip to California and decided to reach out to a friend who had been a fan of the blog for many years. I wrote her a note suggesting how fun it would be to meet for the first time! She responded and reminded me that I had actually met her twice before and sent a screenshot of a photo of us together that I posted on Facebook five years ago.

--

--

Mark Schaefer

Keynote speaker, marketing strategy consultant, Rutgers U faculty and author of 10 books including KNOWN, Marketing Rebellion, and Belonging to the Brand!