Beyond the Basics: 20 Non-Obvious Uses of ChatGPT for Marketing

Mark Schaefer
18 min readFeb 6, 2023

Like me, you’re probably ChatGPT-weary right now, but many of the articles I’ve seen for marketers are either too basic, too technical (I’m not doing any coding!), or too focused on content marketing (duh). So my gift to the world today is a straight-forward, non-technical, and short summary of non-obvious uses of ChatGPT for marketing.

ChatGPT, the popular chatbot from OpenAI, is estimated to have reached 100 million monthly active users just two months after launch, making it the fastest-growing consumer application in history.

Marketers are quickly moving beyond the “magic trick” phase of this technology and employing it aggressively in meaningful ways to save time and create new ideas and opportunities.

I was able to rely on my RISE community to help me develop these incredibly useful ideas! Here we go …

1. Summarize survey data

Last week I was doing a one-on-one coaching call with the head of a creative agency. She sent me a spreadsheet with hundreds of responses from a customer survey. How was I going to analyze this feedback in time for our discussion?

I copied the entire column of responses and pasted them into ChatGPT. My prompt was: Analyze these survey responses and provide a summary

--

--

Mark Schaefer

Keynote speaker, marketing strategy consultant, Rutgers U faculty and author of 10 books including KNOWN, Marketing Rebellion, and Belonging to the Brand!