10 Digital marketing statistics that made me say WOW

Mark Schaefer
5 min readOct 19, 2020

I was minding my own business when, unprovoked, these digital marketing statistics snuck up and attacked me the other day. The nerve!

After I dusted myself off, I realized that these were harmless and rambunctious numbers meant to educate, and possibly amuse me. Perhaps you will have a similar reaction.

A few digital marketing statistics that made me go wow:

1. 93 percent of U.S. traffic comes from Google search, Google Images, and Google Maps.

If you think about the competitive nature of business in general, it’s hard to believe that one company owns 93 percent market share of anything.

There is an interesting dichotomy of human nature. We demand choice but love convenience even more. The concentrated nature of search concerns me, but not enough to use something other than Google!

We see the same thing happening with Facebook as a social network and Amazon as an eCommerce hub. We generally only have the mental bandwidth for one solution.

Source: ( Sparktoro)

--

--

Mark Schaefer

Keynote speaker, marketing strategy consultant, Rutgers U faculty and author of 10 books including KNOWN, Marketing Rebellion, and Belonging to the Brand!